The Shins Unveil New Album Details, Release New Single “Name For You”

The Shins Unveil New Album Details, Release New Single “Name For You”

by Tyler Koslow

The elusive outfit has unveiled a new track as well as the details of their highly anticipated follow-up to 2012’s “Port of Morrow.”

When it comes to creating emphatic and catchy indie folk tunes, few do it better than singer-songwriter and guitarist James Mercer. Known best as the frontman of the New Mexico-based band The Shins, Mercer has kept things relatively quiet over the past few years, but it looks like The Shins are ready to reemerge.

This past October, The Shins dropped a spooky surprise with the track “Dead Alive,” (along with it’s visual accompaniment) getting fans excited for the impending follow-up to the 2012 album Port of Morrow.

Now, just a few months after releasing the Halloween-themed video, The Shins have unveiled the new track “Name For You.” The song is the second single off the upcoming album Heartworms, and the new track hints at return to the beloved and expressive sound that helped The Shins become indie rock icons almost two decades ago. 

“Name For You” is a contagiously catchy track in which Mercer sings from a parental perspective about empowering his two young daughters. “They got a name for you girls/ What’s in a name?” he sings in the hook, urging his girls to overcome gender boundaries and find their own path through life.    

Along with the new single, The Shins also finally unveiled the details of their new album Heartworms. The upcoming studio LP, expected to drop on March 10 via Columbia, is an eleven-track affair that aims to thrust the band back on the airwaves.

The forthcoming album was originally postponed in an attempt to time it with Coachella, but the band was surprisingly left off the festival’s 2017 lineup earlier this week. Nonetheless, new music from The Shins is sure to excite fans, and the group has already shared a string of tour dates in the US and Europe.

Check out the Heartworms track-list below:

1. Name For You

2. Painting A Hole

3. Cherry Hearts

4. Fantasy Island

5. Mildenhall

6. Rubber Ballz

7. Half A Million

8. Dead Alive

9. Heartworms

10. So Now What

11. The Fear  


Published on

Tyler Koslow is a Brooklyn-based freelance writer with an intensive focus on technology, music, pop culture, and of course, cannabis and its impending legalization.

The Latest Vids

floating ad anchor
I'm looking for
I'm looking for

No results

No results

No results

No results

No results

No results