Sign Up / Sign In News Culture Health Music Videos Goods Dispensaries SESH
About Us, Terms Of Service, Privacy Policy

© 2019 MERRY JANE. All Rights Reserved.

The Verdict is in On Vince Staples Genre-Bending "Prima Donna"

The Long Beach-based rapper’s latest project features A$AP Rocky, as well as production from James Blake.

Share Tweet

When the Long Beach-based rapper Vince Staples dropped his studio debut double album Summertime ’06 back in 2015, it was met with widespread critical acclaim. Since then, Vince has solidified himself as one of the realist spitters in the game, always keeping it real both on the track and social media as well.


A photo posted by Rochelle Shipman (@rochelle.rochelle) on

Staples, hot off his FYF Fest performance over the weekend is now streaming his follow up project Prima Donna, a six-track EP exclusively on Apple Music.

With the weekend to really soak in the the project, reviews from the XXL Freshman Class of 2015 alum are rolling in, and critics are impressed.

Prima Donna includes production work from the renowned British producer James Blake, and also features rapper A$AP Rocky and vocalist Kilo Kish. 

The new EP has a similar feel to Summertime ’06, showcasing Vince Staples butter-smooth flow over prominent bumping bass and an outlandish drum beat. The EP’s first track after a gun-rattling intro, called “War Ready”, starts with an Andre 300 sample from the Outkast album ATLiens, and from there Vince takes control and brings the listener on a six-track journey through the hardships and battles that he’s experienced as a gang banger and a hip hop artist.

“Need a breather from the tripping/Either that or my brains to the ceiling/Bite the bullet, tryna fight the feeling/Fuck around and pull it, push it to the limit,” Staples spits on the track “War Ready”. He certainly seems prepared for war, ready to fight his way to the top of the rap game, and others would be wise not to get in his way. For now, Prima Donna can be streamed via Apple Music or purchased on iTunes.


Prima Donna EP Tracklist:

01. War Ready

02. Smile

03. Loco (feat. Kilo Kish)

04. Prima Donna (feat. ASAP Rocky)

05. Pimp Hand

06. Big Time

Are you over 18?